Parvatibai Chowgule College of Arts & Science (Autonomous) Margao – Goa

MINUTES OF MEETING OF THE BOARD OF STUDIES IN GEOGRAPHY

HELD ON 24TH SEPTEMBER 2016 AT 9.00AM.

Vide Chowgule College notice (F.133(C)/797 dated 14/09/2016) a meeting of this BoS was convened on 24/09/2016 at 9.00am at the Photogrammetry and Research Lab, Parvatibai Chowgule College of Arts & Science, Margao – Goa. Since the number of members present represented the Quorum, the BoS began its proceedings.

Minutes are presented in the format.

Members present:

- 1. Dr. Sanjay D. Gaikwad Chairman
- 2. Dr. Surendra Thakurdessai Academic Council Nominee
- 3. Dr. Pravina Kerkar Academic Council Nominee
- 4. Dr. Ambadas Jadhav Expert nominated by Vice-Chancellor of Goa University
- 5. Dr. Nandkumar Sawant Member
- 6. Mr. A. Ashish Member Secretary
- 7. Dr. S. S. Hiremath Member
- 8. Mr. Vishal Malave Member
- 9. Dr. Anil Yedage Member
- 10. Mr. Adrian Ferro Member
- 11. Mrs. Aisha Shaik Member
- 12. Ms. Merel DSilva Member
- 13. Mr. Rahul M., Indian Metereology Department, Goa Special Invitee

Members Absent with Intimation

- 1. Mrs. Anagha C. Bicholcar Member
- 2. Mr. Amarsh Chaturvedi Industry Representative
- 3. Ms. Mallica Desai Alumnus

Proceedings

The Chairman welcomed the members of the Board of Studies (BoS). The Chairman introduced and explained the agenda for the meeting and Board transacted the following business:

Agenda Items:

- 1. To approve the syllabi of Semester V for the academic year 2017-18.
- 2. A.O.B.

PART A: Resolutions

i. The syllabus of B.A. Geography was presented and discussed at the meeting. After following changes the BoS approved the syllabus of the course for Semester V.

Table No. 1

Sr.	CORE COURSE	Nature of Course	UG
No.			Level at which offered
1	Basics of Geomorphology	Compulsory	B.A. (Geography)
2	Basics of Climatology	Elective	B.A. (Geography)
3	Basics of Oceanography	Elective	B.A. (Geography)
4	Geography of Rural Settlements	Elective	B.A. (Geography)
5	Geography of Urban Settlements	Elective	B.A. (Geography)

<u>PART B:</u> Resolutions/ recommendations of BoS that require consideration / approval of Academic Council:

1. The syllabus of B.A .Semester V as presented in the Table no. 1 and attached in **Annexure I.**

Table No. 1

Sr.	CORE COURSE	Nature of Course	UG
No.			Level at which offered
1	Basics of Geomorphology	Compulsory	B.A. (Geography)
2	Basics of Climatology	Elective	B.A. (Geography)
3	Basics of Oceanography	Elective	B.A. (Geography)
4	Geography of Rural Settlements	Elective	B.A. (Geography)
5	Geography of Urban Settlements	Elective	B.A. (Geography)

The foregoing minutes of the meeting were read out by the Chairman at the meeting itself and they were unanimously approved by all the members present

03/10/2016 Date:

Signature of the Chairman Sanjay Gaikwad

Signature Member Secretary Mr. A. Ashish

- 1. Dr. Sanjay D. Gaikwad Chairman
- 2. Dr. Pravina Kerkar Academic Council Nominee
- 3. Dr. Ambadas Jadhav Expert nominated by Vice-Chancellor of Goa University
- 4. Dr. Nandkumar Sawant Member
- 5. Mr. A. Ashish Member Secretary
- 6. Dr. S. S. Hiremath Member
- 7. Mr. Vishal Malave Member
- 8. Dr. Anil Yedage Member
- 9. Mr. Sagar Mali Member
- 10. Mr. Adrian Ferro Member
- 11. Mrs. Aisha Shaik Member
- 12. Ms. Merel DSilva Member
- 13. Mr. Rahul M., Indian Metereology Department, Goa Special Invitee

PART C: The remarks of the Dean of the Faculty:-

- a. The minutes are in order
- b. The minutes may be placed before the Academic Council with remark, if any.
- c. Important points of the minutes which need clear policy decision of the Academic council to be recorded.

Date:

Hewarm Signature of the Dean:



Parvatibai Chowgule College of Arts and Science Autonomous



Accredited by NAAC with Grade X (CGPA Score 3.41 on a 4 Point Scale) Best affiliated College-Goa University Silver Jubilee Year Award

Following members of the Board of Studies in Geography were present for the meeting convened on Saturday, 24th September 2016 at 9.00 am in College

Sr. No.	Name of the Faculty	Signature
1	Dr. Sanjay D. Gaikwad - Chairman	Dignitrarils
2	Dr. Surendra Thakurdessai – Academic Council Nominee	280
3	Dr. Pravina Kerkar – Academic Council Nominee	mh
4	Dr. Ambadas Jadhav – Expert Nominated by Vice- Chancellor, Goa University	
5	Mr. Amarsh Chaturvedi – Industry Representative	ABSENT
6	Ms. Mallica Desai - Alumnus	ABSENT
7	Dr. Nandkumar Sawant - Member	awant
8	Mrs. Anagha C. Bicholcar - Member	ABSENT
9	Mr. A. Ashish - Member Secretary	X
10	Dr. S. S. Hiremath - Member	BA
11	Mr. Vishal Malave - Member	Refe
12	Dr. Anil Yedage - Member	And
13	Mr. Adrian Ferro - Member	Theua
14	Mrs. Aisha Shaik - Member	Atami .
15	Ms. Merel DSilva - Member	MB
16	Mr. Rahul M. – Special Invitee	PRESENT