Parvatibai Chowgule College of Arts & Science (Autonomous) Margao – Goa

MINUTES OF MEETING OF THE BOARD OF STUDIES IN GEOGRAPHY HELD ON 24TH SEPTEMBER 2016 AT 9.00AM.

Vide Chowgule College notice (F.133(C)/797 dated 14/09/2016) a meeting of this BoS was convened on 24/09/2016 at 9.00am at the Photogrammetry and Research Lab, Parvatibai Chowgule College of Arts & Science, Margao – Goa. Since the number of members present represented the Quorum, the BoS began its proceedings.

Minutes are presented in the format.

Members present:

- 1. Dr. Sanjay D. Gaikwad Chairman
- 2. Dr. Surendra Thakurdessai Academic Council Nominee
- 3. Dr. Pravina Kerkar Academic Council Nominee
- 4. Dr. Ambadas Jadhav Expert nominated by Vice-Chancellor of Goa University
- 5. Dr. Nandkumar Sawant Member
- 6. Mr. A. Ashish Member Secretary
- 7. Dr. S. S. Hiremath Member
- 8. Mr. Vishal Malave Member
- 9. Dr. Anil Yedage Member
- 10. Mr. Adrian Ferro Member
- 11. Mrs. Aisha Shaik Member
- 12. Ms. Merel DSilva Member
- 13. Rahul M., Indian Metereology Department, Goa Special Invitee

Members Absent with Intimation

- 1. Mrs. Anagha C. Bicholcar Member
- 2. Mr. Amarsh Chaturvedi Industry Representative
- 3. Ms. Mallica Desai Alumnus

Proceedings

The Chairman welcomed the members of the Board of Studies (BoS). The Chairman introduced and explained the agenda for the meeting and Board transacted the following business:

Agenda Items:

- 1. To approve the syllabi of Semester V for the academic year 2017-18.
- 2. A.O.B.

PART A: Resolutions

- i. The syllabus of B.Sc. Geography was presented and discussed at the meeting. After following changes the BoS approved the syllabus of the course for Semester V.
 - a. The Board rephrased Course Objectives and Learning Outcomes of some papers.
 - b. It was recommended that the paper title of the Elective paper GEG-V.E-9: Geography of Soil, of B.Sc., should be changed to Geography of Soil Studies and that of GEG-V.E-12: Quantitative Techniques in Physical Geography should be changed to Quantitative Techniques in Geography.
 - c. The Board recommended that, for the new papers introduced, sub-topics should be specified in detail.
 - d. Few repetitions were omitted from the syllabus, while, certain topics were added to the syllabus
 - e. The members pointed out few grammatical errors and spelling mistakes which were rectified
 - f. The Board suggested latest edition of Books to be added in the references for the syllabus of some papers.

PART B:

- i. Important Points/ recommendations of BoS that require consideration / approval of Academic Council:
 - 1. The redrafted syllabus of B.Sc. Semester V is presented in Annexure I.
 - 2. List of Core and Elective Courses is presented in Annexure II

The foregoing minutes of the meeting were read out by the Chairman at the meeting itself and they were unanimously approved by all the members present

Signature of the Chairman Sanjay Gaikwad

Date: 03/10/2016

Signature Member Secretary Mr. A. Ashish

- 1. Dr. Sanjay D. Gaikwad Chairman
- 2. Dr. Surendra Thakurdesai Academic Council Nominee
- 3. Dr. Pravina Kerkar Academic Council Nominee
- 4. Dr. Ambadas Jadhav Expert nominated by Vice-Chancellor of Goa University
- 5. Dr. Nandkumar Sawant Member
- 6. Mr. A. Ashish Member Secretary
- 7. Dr. S. S. Hiremath Member
- 8. Mr. Vishal Malave Member
- 9. Dr. Anil Yedage Member
- 10. Mr. Adrian Ferro Member
- 11. Mrs. Aisha Shaik Member
- 12. Ms. Merel DSilva Member
- 13. Rahul M., Indian Metereology Department, Goa Special Invitee

PART C: The remarks of the Dean of the Faculty:-

- a. The minutes are in order
- b. The minutes may be placed before the Academic Council with remark, if any.
- c. Important points of the minutes which need clear policy decision of the Academic council to be recorded.

Date: 7/10/2016

Signature of the Dean: Ananyco Dors



Parvatibai Chowgule College of Arts and Science Autonomous



Accredited by NAAC with Grade X (CGPA Score 3.41 on a 4 Point Scale) Best affiliated College-Goa University Silver Jubilee Year Award

Following members of the Board of Studies in Geography were present for the meeting convened on Saturday, 24th September 2016 at 9.00 am in College

Sr. No.	Name of the Faculty	Signature
1	Dr. Sanjay D. Gaikwad - Chairman	Digninmer C
. 2	Dr. Surendra Thakurdessai – Academic Council Nominee	280
3	Dr. Pravina Kerkar – Academic Council Nominee	mh
4	Dr. Ambadas Jadhav - Expert Nominated by Vice- Chancellor, Goa University	122
5	Mr. Amarsh Chaturvedi – Industry Representative	ABSENT
6	Ms. Mallica Desai - Alumnus	ABSENT
7	Dr. Nandkumar Sawant - Member	anant_
8	Mrs. Anagha C. Bicholcar - Member	ABSENIT
9	Mr. A. Ashish - Member Secretary	Kit
10	Dr. S. S. Hiremath - Member	2h'
11	Mr. Vishal Malave - Member	A.C.
12	Dr. Anil Yedage - Member	finit
13	Mr. Adrian Ferro - Member	Themal
14	Mrs. Aisha Shaik - Member	Adami .
15	Ms. Merel DSilva - Member	Mes
16	Mr. Rahul M. – Special Invitee	PRESENT