



Accredited by NAAC with Grade 'A' (CGPA Score 3.41 on a 4 Point Scale) Best affiliated College - Goa University Silver Jubilee Year Award

Date: 18/12/2017

To

All the members of BOS-Computer Science

Sub: Minutes of the fifth meeting of the Board of Studies in Computer Science held on 9th December 2017

Sir/Madam,

I am forwarding the minutes of the fifth Board Of Studies (BOS) in Computer Science held on 9th December 2017, Lab 1., Department of Computer Science of the College. If no exception is taken by any member who was present at the meeting to the correctness of the Minutes of the Meeting within 5 days of dispatch of the Minutes, they shall be deemed to be correct.

Yours faithfully,

D. Prabakaran

Chairman

BOS-Computer Science

Encl: Minutes of the Meeting





Accredited by NAAC with Grade 'A' (CGPA Score 3.41 on a 4 Point Scale)
Best affiliated College - Goa University Silver Jubilee Year Award

MINUTES OF MEETING OF THE BOARD OF STUDIES IN COMPUTER SCIENCE

HELD ON 9th December, 2017 AT 10.00am

Vide Chowgule College notice F.133(C)/ 1256 dated 8th November 2017, a meeting of this BoS was convened on 9th December, 2017 at 10.00am at the Lab1., Department of Computer Science. Parvatibai Chowgule College of Arts & Science (Autonomous), Margao – Goa. Since the number of members present represented the Quorum, the BoS began its proceedings.

Minutes are presented in the format.

Members present:

- 1. Mr. D.Prabakaran -HOD- Chairman
- 2. Dr. Bharath Despande Academic Council Nominee
- 3. Mr.Dinesh Rivankar Industry Representative
- 4. Mr.Sedrick Pires Alumni Representative
- 5. Ms. Shaila Ghanti Member
- 6. Mr. Alberto Ian Barreto Member
- 7. Mr. V.C. Kumaresh Member
- 8. Ms. Suchitra Bhat Member
- 9.Ms. Judith Dias Barreto Member
- 10.Ms. Neeta V. Dhopeshwarkar Member
- 11.Ms.Dikshita Aroskar
- 12.Ms.Priya Lotlikar
- 13. Ms.Sureka Patil
- 14.Mr.Mahesh Matha = Member
- 15.Mr.Abhishek Gudekar Member
- 16.Ms.Sanas Shaikh Member
- 17. Mr.Castor Godinho
- 18. Mr. Wendham Gray

Members Absent with Intimation

- 1. Dr. Jyoti Pawar Vice-Chancellor, Goa University, Nominee
- 2. Mr. Nilesh Natekar Academic Council Nominee
- 3. Ms. Sameena Falleiro Member





Accredited by NAAC with Grade 'A' (CGPA Score 3.41 on a 4 Point Scale)
Best affiliated College - Goa University Silver Jubilee Year Award

PROCEEDINGS

The Chairperson Mr. D.Prabakaran, Head and Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science, welcomed all the members of the Board of Studies (BoS). New members introduced themselves to the other members of the BOS. After the introductions the agenda for the meeting was read and the Board transacted the following business:

Agenda Items:

- 1. Approving the Syllabus of Interdisciplinary Papers
- 2. Approving the Addition of new Elective Papers for PGDCA
- 3. Approving the M.Sc(IT) Revised Course Structure
- 4. Review on SYBSc
- 5. Any Other Business (A.O.B.)

PART A: Resolutions

- 1. The proposed Syllabus of Interdisciplinary papers was presented and discussed. After changes the BoS approved the Syllabus of Interdisciplinary papers. The redrafted syllabi is presented in **Annexure1**.
 - **Observation**: Intake capacity must be 30 only.
- 2. The proposed addition of two new Elective Papers for PGDCA was presented and discussed. After changes the BoS approved the Syllabus of the addition of two new Elective Papers for PGDCA. The redrafted syllabi is presented in **Annexure II**.
- 3. Revised Course Structure for M.Sc(I.T.) was presented and discussed. After changes the BoS approved the Course Structure for M.Sc(I.T.). The revised Course Structure for M.Sc(I.T.) is presented in **Annexure III** with the following observations:
- The Elective papers which have 2 credits can be framed as practical courses. They can be on any latest technology that is currently used in the IT sector. These courses can be conducted by using the hands-on approach. There must be 30 contact hours.
- Guidelines for process and evaluation of seminar.
 - Three different types of seminars can be done. (Theoretical/Practical/Research).
 - Tools can be studied. Guides have to be appointed and a record of contact hours must be maintained.





Accredited by NAAC with Grade 'A' (CGPA Score 3.41 on a 4 Point Scale) Best affiliated College - Goa University Silver Jubilee Year Award

4. Review on SYBSc was discussed. BOS also suggested changes for the following courses:

COM-III. E-1, Software Engineering and

COM-IV. E-7, Server Side Programming

After changes the BoS approved the Syllabi of these two courses for SYBSc. The redrafted syllabi is presented in **Annexure IV**.

5. Review on Semester V of TYBSc was discussed. BOS suggested changes for the following course: COM-V. C-7 Operating Systems

After changes the BoS approved the Syllabi of this course for TYBSc. The redrafted syllabi $% \left(1\right) =\left(1\right) +\left(1\right)$

<u>PART B:</u> Resolutions/Recommendations of BoS that require consideration / approval of Academic Council:

- 1. Approving the Syllabus of Interdisciplinary Papers
- 2. Approving the Addition of new Elective Papers for PGDCA
- 3. Approving the M.Sc(IT) Revised Course Structure
- 4. Review on SYBSc
- 5. Review on Semester V of TYBSc

The foregoing minutes of the meeting are circulated by the Chairman on 18th December, 2017.

After a fruitful interaction and deliberation, vote of thanks to the Chair given by Ms.Neeta Dhopeshwarkar, faculty of Computer Science Department.

The meeting ended at 1:30 pm.

The following were the members present:

- 1. Mr. D.Prabakaran -HOD- Chairman
- 2. Dr. Bharath Despande Academic Council Nominee
- 3. Mr.Dinesh Rivankar Industry Representative
- 4. Mr.Sedrick Pires Alumni Representative
- 5. Ms. Shaila Ghanti Member
- 6. Mr. Alberto Ian Barreto Member





Accredited by NAAC with Grade 'A' (CGPA Score 3.41 on a 4 Point Scale)
Best affiliated College - Goa University Silver Jubilee Year Award

- 7. Mr. V.C. Kumaresh Member
- 8. Ms. Suchitra Bhat Member
- 9. Ms. Judith Dias Barreto Member
- 10.Ms. Neeta V. Dhopeshwarkar Member
- 11.Ms.Dikshita Aroskar
- 12.Ms.Priya Lotlikar
- 13. Ms. Sureka Patil
- 14.Mr.Mahesh Matha Member
- 15.Mr.Abhishek Gudekar Member
- 16.Ms.Sanas Shaikh -- Member
- 17. Mr.Castor Godinho
- 18. Mr. Wendham Gray

Due to prior commitments, Dr.Jyoti Pawar, Mr. Nilesh Natekar and Ms.Sameena Falleiro conveyed their inability to attend the meeting.

Ms.Neeta Dhopeshwarkar

Member Secretary BoS(Computer Science)

Date: 18th December 2017

D. Prabakaran 8 12

Chairman

BoS(Computer Science)

PART C: The remarks of the Dean of the Faculty:-

a. The minutes are in order

b. The minutes may be placed before the Academic Council with remark, if any.

c. Important points of the minutes which need clear policy decision of the Academic council to be recorded.

Date: 18th December 2017

Signature of the Dean:

(Faculty of Science)

(Ms.Shaila Ghanti)