



Accredited by NAAC with Grade 'A' (CGPA Score 3.41 on a 4 Point Scale)

Best affiliated College-Goa University Silver Jubilee Year Award

MINUTES OF MEETING OF THE BOARD OF STUDIES IN COMPUTER SCIENCE

HELD ON 1st April, 2017 AT 10.00am

Vide Chowgule College notice F.133(C)/ 1522 dated 16th March 2017, a meeting of this BoS was convened on 1st April, 2017 at 10.00am at the Conference Room of the Administrative Building, Parvatibai Chowgule College of Arts & Science (Autonomous), Margao – Goa. Since the number of members present represented the Quorum, the BoS began its proceedings.

Minutes are presented in the format.

Members present:

- 1. Mr. D.Prabakaran -HOD- Chairman
- 2. Dr. Jyoti Pawar Vice-Chancellor, Goa University, Nominee
- 3. Dr. Bharath Despande Academic Council Nominee
- 4. Mr. Nilesh Natekar Academic Council Nominee
- 5. Mr.Dinesh Rivankar Industry Representative
- 6. Mr. Sedrick Pires Alumni Representative
- 7. Mr. Alberto Ian Barreto Member
- 8. Mr. V.C. Kumaresh Member
- 9. Dr. Animesh Adhikari Member
- 10.Mrs. Suchitra Bhat Member
- 11.Mrs. Judith Dias Barreto Member
- 12. Dr. (Mrs). Sameena Falleiro Member Secretary
- 13.Mrs. Neeta V. Dhopeshwarkar Member
- 14.Ms.Archana Menon Member
- 15.Ms.Dikshita Aroskar
- 16.Ms.Priya Lotlikar
- 17.Mr.Mahesh Matha Member
- 18.Mr.Abhishek Gudekar Member
- 19.Ms.Sanas Shaikh Member

Members Absent with Intimation

1. Ms. Shaila Ghanti



Accredited by NAAC with Grade 'A' (CGPA Score 3.41 on a 4 Point Scale)

PROCEEDINGS

Best affiliated College-Goa University Silver Jubilee Year Award

The Chairperson Mr. D.Prabakaran, Head and Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science, welcomed all the members of the Board of Studies (BoS). This was followed by the Member Secretary, Dr. (Ms). Sameena Falleiro, Associate Professor, requesting all members to introduce themselves as the new BoS has been constituted. After the introductions the agenda for the meeting was read and the Board transacted the following business:

Agenda Items:

- 1. Approving the Syllabi of Semester V and Semester VI of B.Sc (Computer Science) for the academic year 2017-18.
- 2. Approving the syllabi of Semester III of M.Sc. (IT) for the academic year 2017-18.
- 3. Any Other Business (A.O.B)

PART A: Resolutions

- 1. The proposed Syllabi of Semester V and Semester VI for the Academic Year 2017-18 of Core and Elective Courses for Under Graduate Degree Program in Computer Science offered for B.Sc. under Autonomy was presented and discussed. BOS also suggested the following changes:
 - COM-V.E-11: Data Analytics to be renamed as Introduction to Data Science
 - COM-V.E-12: Software Testing and Quality Assurance to be renamed as Software Testing
 - COM-VI.E-13: System Security to be renamed as Network Security
 - COM-VI.E-15: Project Management to be replaced with Multimedia Techniques
 - COM-VI.E-16: Business Intelligence to be replaced with Digital Marketing
 - After changes the BoS approved the Syllabi of the courses for Semester V and Semester
 - VI. The redrafted syllabi of Semester V and Semester VI is presented in AnnexureI.
- 2. The proposed Syllabi of Semester III for the Academic Year 2017-18 of Core Courses for M.Sc in Information Technology under Autonomy was presented and discussed. BOS also suggested the following changes:
 - MIT31: Emerging Technologies to be renamed as Data Mining
 - MIT36: Emerging Technologies and Information Retrieval Lab to be renamed as Data Mining and Information Retrieval Lab.

After changes the BoS approved the Syllabi of the courses for Semester III. The redrafted syllabi is presented in $\bf Annexure~II$.





Accredited by NAAC with Grade A' (CGPA Score 3.41 on a 4 Point Scale)
Best affiliated College-Goa University Silver Jubilee Year Award

- 3. Updated Syllabi of FYBSc Semester II was presented and discussed. After changes the BoS approved the Syllabi of the courses for Semester II. The redrafted syllabi is presented in **Annexure III**.
- 4. Review on PGDCA Course was discussed. BOS also suggested the following changes: DCA11: C Programming to be replaced with Object Oriented Programming Paper Code of Elective papers to be changed with a prefix EL to the existing code. After changes the BoS approved the Syllabi of the PGDCA course. The redrafted syllabi is presented in **Annexure IV**.
- 5. The Board unanimously agreed that in a subject like Computer Science successful completion of Trainings/Certifications of/from MOOCS like Course Era, EdX, MIT, IIT Spoken Tutorials, ORACLE Academy, CISCO, MSCE, LEAP, etc. besides Projects and other skill enhancement courses should also be encouraged and can be included under Internships.

<u>PART B:</u> Resolutions/Recommendations of BoS that require consideration / approval of Academic Council:

- 1. The Syllabi of Semester V and VI of B.Sc presented in Annexure I
- 2. The Syllabi of Semester III of M.Sc (IT) presented in Annexure II
- 3. Review of FYBSc presented in Annexure III
- 4. Review of P.G.D.C.A. presented in Annexure IV
- 5. Successful completion of Trainings/Certifications of/from MOOCS like Course Era, EdX, MIT, IIT Spoken Tutorials, ORACLE Academy, CISCO, MCSE, LEAP, etc. should also be encouraged and can be included under Internships.

The foregoing minutes of the meeting are circulated by the Chairman on 11th April, 2017.

After a fruitful interaction and deliberation, vote of thanks to the Chair given by Mr. V.C Kumaresh, faculty of Computer Science Department.

The meeting ended at 2:00 pm.





Accredited by NAAC with Grade 'A' (CGPA Score 3.41 on a 4 Point Scale)

Best affiliated College-Goa University Silver Jubilee Year Award

The following were the members present:

- 1. Mr. D.Prabakaran -HOD- Chairman
- 2. Dr. Jyoti Pawar Vice-Chancellor, Goa University, Nominee
- 3. Dr. Bharath Despande Academic Council Nominee
- 4. Mr. Nilesh Natekar Academic Council Nominee
- 5. Mr.Dinesh Rivankar Industry Representative
- 6. Mr.Sedrick Pires Alumni Representative
- 7. Mr. Alberto Ian Barreto Member
- 8. Mr. V.C. Kumaresh Member
- 9. Dr. Animesh Adhikari Member
- 10. Mrs. Suchitra Bhat Member
- 11. Mrs. Judith Dias Barreto Member
- 12. Dr. (Mrs). Sameena Falleiro Member Secretary
- 13. Mrs. Neeta V. Dhopeshwarkar Member
- 14. Ms. Archana Menon Member
- 15. Ms.Dikshita Aroskar
- 16. Ms.Priya Lotlikar
- 17. Mr. Mahesh Matha Member
- 18. Mr. Abhishek Gudekar Member
- 19. Ms. Sanas Shaikh Member

Due to prior commitments Ms. Shaila Ghanti conveyed her inability to attend the meeting.

Dr. Sameena Falleiro Member Secretary

BoS(Computer Science)

D. Prabakaran Chairman

BoS(Computer Science)

Date: 11th April 2017

PART C: The remarks of the Dean of the Faculty:-

a. The minutes are in order

b. The minutes may be placed before the Academic Council with remark, if any.

c. Important points of the minutes which need clear policy decision of the Academic council to be recorded.

Date: 11th April 2017

Signature of the Dean:

(Faculty of Science)

(Dr. Ganpat Naik)

1